More from my NYC source

Leave a comment

August 25, 2012 by soniauwimana

This came in overnight from my source at the UN (who is not from Rwanda, in case you’re wondering);

“No one can understand why Steven Hege rushed out this second report. Everyone is bemused. Friends of Rwanda say it confirms Hege’s ideological bent; enemies just think he’s panicking. Either way, he’s become a liability. One member of the [deleted reference to permanent UNSC member] delegation told me she thinks this now seems like a face-saving exercise for MONUSCO, and the Group of Experts have become unhelpful political actors. ‘If they are not seen as neutral, they shouldn’t be there’ she told me, “and I can’t find anyone who thinks they’re neutral.’”

Ouch.

Please read my post below if you haven’t already.

Love,

Sonia

Twitter handle: @UwimanaSonia
People are asking me to publish the report. I don’t want to risk being sued by Hege or the UN so I am awaiting legal advice. Please understand!

Leave a Reply

